Tags

,

I’ve lived in all the great bread countries in Europe and Germany was, until now the reference; a huge choice of healthy brown bread served by people who weren’t particularly friendly but what do you want from your bakers who have been up since dawn?

Moving into a new city means finding your doctor and dentist but more importantly, your baker and hairdresser.  I’m pleased to say that after one year, I have found them both.  I run 5 (according to H’s fitness thingie more like 4) kilometres once a week and the trade off for this effort is a coffee and pain au chocolat and/or half a baguette when I get home.  I can say that after a lot of research, i.e. trying out each bakery in turn and conducting a controlled tasting (maybe the reason I’m looking less svelte these days) the BBB (best baguette in Belfort) is to be found in Rue de Bescencon, opposite the KFC, which I think is quite fitting.

I can also recommend the pain au choc which is unfortunate because I run once a week but I buy bread daily.  It’s a trek so I’m going to have to cycle there from now on in order to balance my bread miles and reduce my carb footprint.